Appointments Made to Autonomous APRN Council

Registration form for Autonomous Advanced Practice Registered Nurse is Now Available

The Boards of Medicine, Nursing, and Osteopathic Medicine have made appointments to the Council on Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) Autonomous Practice. Legislation creating the Council went into effect on July 1, 2020. The Council will recommend standards of practice for APRNs who register with the Board of Nursing for autonomous practice.


Board of Medicine

Shailesh Gupta, MD (3 year term)

Hector Vila, MD (4 year term)


Board of Nursing

Charrita Ernewein, DNP, APRN, FNP (2 year term)

Vicky Stone-Gale, DNP, APRN, FNP (4 year term)

Sandra Williamson, APRN, CNM (3 year term)

Kathleen Wilson, PhD, APRN, FNP (2 year term)


Board of Osteopathic Medicine

Michelle Mendez, DO (4 year term)

Joel Rose, DO (2 year term)

Cassandra G. Pasley, BSN, JD, Director of the Division of Medical Quality Assurance, will serve as Chair of the Council as the State Surgeon General’s designee.


The Board of Nursing voted to initiate rulemaking on various aspects of HB 607 during its meetings on June 5, 2020.

The registration application for autonomous APRNs will be available after it has been adopted by rule, which is anticipated to take approximately 90 days.  The Board voted to approve the application and move forward with rulemaking at its June 5th meeting.  The Board also voted to define “primary care practice” to include “health promotion, disease prevention, health maintenance, counseling, patient education, and diagnosis and treatment of acute and chronic illnesses in a variety of healthcare settings”.  This definition will also move through the rulemaking adoption process prior to becoming effective.

The Board determined that an equivalency to the required graduate level coursework required for registration would be 45 CE hours in each of the required subject areas.  These hours must be offered by a Board-approved provider or a national organization empowered to accredit nursing CE.  The courses must have been taken within the 5 years preceding the registration application.  Submitted courses must have documentation of differential diagnosis and pharmacology in the course description and objectives.

Jamaal Jones


This post was authored by Jamaal R. Jones, Esquire (Partner) of Jones Health Law, P.A. where we provide "On-Call Legal Services to Healthcare Professionals". For more information contact us at (305) 877-5054; email us at JRJ@JonesHealthLaw.com, or visit our website at www.JonesHealthLaw.com

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x